Revision control is the process used to track and control changes made to
project items in a repository. Changes to an item are identified by its revision timestamp (which
includes date and time accurate to a small fraction of a second), the user making the changes, and
other information, when the item is checked in.
repository serves two primary functions:
- A database: Storing project settings and description information for test modules,
test folders, assigned users, project's notes, etc.
- File storage: Storing actual contents of items that can be edited; for example, test
modules, data sets, action or interface definitions.
Repository files are subject to revision control and management. Older revision of a file are
retained. You need to check out a file before you can modify it. Once checked out, a lock is
placed on the file and no other users may modify it until the file is checked back in. By
checking a file back in, you are:
- Writing or merging the changes made to the working copy back to the repository.
- Making the file available for other authorized users to check out and modify.
- Creating an associated timestamp.
If you make changes to a file and you don't want to save your changes to the repository, you
may opt to use undo check out, in which case your changes are discarded,
the lock on the checked out file is removed, and the file becomes available again for other